Ascent Award

Ascent Award

Ascent Award

Established in 2012, the Atmospheric Sciences Ascent Award aims to reward exceptional mid-career (academic, government, and private sector) scientists in the fields of the atmospheric and climate sciences. “Mid-career” is defined here as between 8 and 20 years post-Ph.D or the scientist’s highest degree. The only criterion for the award is that the applicant demonstrates excellence in research and leadership in his or her field. Nominations for women and underrepresented minorities are encouraged. It is anticipated that up to 4 awards will be made each year. The Award consists of a certificate, $1000, and dinner at the Section Banquet during the Fall Meeting, where the award will be presented. AGU Fellows are not eligible for this award.

Nominations are accepted annually by the deadline: 15 April. Members of the AGU are encouraged to nominate deserving individuals. When considering nominations for next year, the nomination package should consist of four items:

  • A nomination letter, (not to exceed two pages in length)
  • The candidate’s curriculum vitae, (not to exceed two pages in length)
  • The candidate’s list of publications (not to exceed two pages in length)
  • Up to three letters of recommendation (not to exceed two pages in length each)

The nomination and supporting letters should clearly state how the nominated individual’s accomplishments are outstanding for one at his/her stage of career. Nominations must be submitted online via the AGU website before April 15. Questions? Please contact the Award Committee Chair: William K.M. Lau.

Ascent Award Winners

2012 Andrew Dessler (Texas A&M Univerity): For creative and incisive studies of the influences of water and clouds in the climate system.
2012 Jose-Luis Jimenez (University of Colorado): For shifting the paradigm underlying primary emission, secondary production, and chemical evolution of carbonaceous aerosols.
2012 Stephen A. Klein (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory): For elucidating the role of clouds in climate change and the fidelity with which climate models simulate clouds.
2012 Athanasios Nenes (Georgia Institute of Technology): For fundamental advances in research on aerosol impacts on cloud formation, air quality, and climate though a combination of theory, instrumentation development, measurements, and modeling.

2013 Cecilia Bitz (University of Washington): For advacing our ability to model climate in numerous ways, especially relating to sea ice.

2013 Paul Ginoux (NOAA GFDL): For sustained pioneering work on aerosols.

2013 Mark Jacobson (Stanford University): For his dominating role in the development of models to identify the role of black carbon in climate change.

2013 Sergey Nizkorodov (University of California, Irvine): For elucidating at the molecular level the formation, growth and reactions of organic molecules in the atmosphere.

2013 Ping Yang (Texas A&M University): For fundamental research in radiative transfer and remote sensing.

2014 Kenneth Carslaw

2014 Meredith Hastings

2014 Adam Sobel

2014 Rodney Weber

2015 Jiwen Fan

2015 Andrew Gettelman

2015 Allen Robinson

2015 Allison Steiner

2016 Alex Hall

2016 Christian Jakob

2016 Eric Maloney

2016 Adam Scaife

2016 Susan C. Van den Heever