Holton Award

Dr. James R. Holton

James R. Holton Award

In 2004, the Atmospheric Sciences Section of the American Geophysical Union established a Section Award for junior Atmospheric Scientists, the James R. Holton Award. The Holton Award recognizes outstanding scientific research and accomplishments of early-career scientists in the field. This award is named in honor of James R. Holton, an outstanding atmospheric scientist, educator, and mentor. During his 38 years on the faculty at the University of Washington, he taught, advised and mentored a large number of students and junior scientists, and was awarded every major honor available in the atmospheric sciences including AGU’s Revelle Medal. The Award consists of a certificate, $1000, and dinner at the Section Banquet during the Fall Meeting, where the award will be presented.

Nominations are accepted annually by the deadline: 15 April. To be eligible, candidates should be a member of AGU, and be no more than three years past the award of the Ph.D. degree. Members of the AGU are encouraged to nominate deserving individuals. The nomination package should consist of four items, each no longer than two pages in length:

  • A nomination letter,
  • The candidate’s curriculum vitae,
  • Two letters of recommendation

The nomination and supporting letters should clearly state how the nominated individual’s research accomplishments are outstanding for one at his/her stage of career. Nominations must be submitted online via the AGU website by April 15. Questions? Please contact the Award Committee Chair, James Hurrell.

Past Holton Award Winners


2005 Tapio Schneider
2006 Noah Diffenbaugh
2007 Alfonso Saiz-Lopez
2008 Courtenay Strong
2009 Simona Bordoni
2010 William R. Boos
2011 Tiffany A. Shaw
2012 Daehyun Kim
2013 Massimo A. Bollasina
2014 Tim Merlis
Libby Barnes
2015 Chunsong Lu
2016 Yuan Wang
2017 Karin van der Wiel
Jianfei Peng
2018 Ángel Francisco Adames-Corraliza