Congratulations to the Atmospheric Science winners of the 2015 AGU Honors, AGU Fellow and Section Awards

Dear Colleagues,

Please join me in congratulating the Atmospheric Science winners of the 2015 AGU Honors, AGU fellows and Section Awardees. These awardees are selected based on outstanding contributions to Earth sciences by members of the Atmospheric Science section, as recognized by peers and vetted by AGU selection committees. This year we received a large number of excellent nomination packages, and the awardees represent the best of the best. I like to thank the selection committee members for the time and effort they put into making the very difficult decision in selecting the awardees from among the many high-qualified nominations. Special thanks are due to those who nominated and wrote support letters for the candidates. Please watch out for the call for award nominations next year, and nominate or support a deserving colleague.

The 2015 AGU Honors and Fellow awards will be presented at the Award Ceremony followed by the Honors Banquet on December 17 (Wednesday) evening, during the Fall AGU meeting. Section Awards will be presented on December 16 (Tuesday) evening. For details please check the AGU program schedule. I hope to see you at both events.

William Lau
President, AGU Atmospheric Sciences section.

2015 AGU Union Honors
Roger Revelle Medal, Anne Thompson, NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center
International Award, Peter John Webster, Georgia Institute of Technology
Climate Communication Prize, Richard Somerville, Scripps Institution of Oceanography

2015 Atmosheric Science AGU fellows
Christopher Bretherton, University of Washington
Tami Bond, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Alex Guenther, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Jose-Luis Jimenez, University of Colorado Boulder
Betty, Otto-Bliesner, National Center for Atmospheric Research
William Randel, National Center for Atmospheric Research
Philip Rasch, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Lorraine Remer, University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Daniel Rosenfeld, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Jerusalem, Israel
Guoxiong Wu, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China
Ping Yang, Texas A&M University

2015 Atmospheric Science Section Awards
Holton Award: Chunsong Lu, Nanjing University of Information Science and Technology
Kaufman Award: Brent Holben, Goddard Space Flight Center, NASA ,
Christos Zerefos, Research Center for Atmospheric Physics and Climatology, Academy of Athens
Ascent Award: Jiwen Fan, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Andrew Gettelman, National Center for Atmospheric Research
Allen Robinson, Carnegie Mellon University
Allison Steiner, University of Michigan
Bjerknes Lecturer: Kerry Emanuel, Massachusetts Institute of Technolog
Charney Lecturer: Meinrat Andreae, Max Planck Institute for Chemistry