Winners of the 2013 new Ascent Awards

We are excited to announce the winners of the 2013 new Ascent Awards:

Cecilia Bitz (University of Washington): For advacing our ability to model climate in numerous ways, especially relating to sea ice.
Paul Ginoux (NOAA GFDL): For sustained pioneering work on aerosols.
Mark Jacobson (Stanford University): For his dominating role in the development of models to identify the role of black carbon in climate change.
Sergey Nizkorodov (University of California, Irvine): For elucidating at the molecular level the formation, growth and reactions of organic molecules in the atmosphere.
Ping Yang (Texas A&M University): For fundamental research in radiative transfer and remote sensing.